Running from the Law can Lead to Big Trouble
In the 2022 Georgia Legislative session, O.C.G.A. § 40-6-395, Fleeing and Attempting to Elude Officer, was amended to making a fourth or subsequent conviction for this offense a mandatory felony.
In addition, the penalties for the offense were increased as follows:
1st offense - fine of $1,000 - $5,000 (previous minimum was $500), and 30 days - 1 year in jail (previous minimum 10 days)
2nd offense - $2,500 - $5,000 fine and 90 days - 1 year in jail. (Previous minimums $1,000 and 30 days.)
3rd offense - $4,000 - $5,000 fine and 180 days - 1 year in jail. (Previous minimums $2,500 and 90 days.)
4th and subsequent offenses will be punished by a fine of $5,000 - $10,000 and incarceration from 1 - 10 years.
Moreover, a charge of Fleeing will become a felony if the driver:
Is the proximate cause of an accident;
Violates O.C.G.A. § 40-6-144 (Failure to stop/yield upon emerging from an alley/driveway/building/driving on sidewalk)
Violates O.C.G.A. § 40-6-163 (Passing a stopped school bus)
Violates O.C.G.A. § 40-6-251 (Laying Drags)
Violates O.C.G.A. § 40-6-390 (Reckless Driving)
Violates O.C.G.A. § 40-6-390.1 (Reckless Stunt Driving)
Violates any provision of O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 (a) - (Previous language allowed only a per se alcohol Driving Under the Influence under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 (a)(5) to aggravate to a felony.)
If you or a loved one are charge with Fleeing and Attempting to Elude, it is important to have skilled attorneys on your side in court to help protect your record and your freedom.
Call on the Coastal Law Group to help you in all the courts of Glynn County, Camden County, Wayne County, Jeff Davis County, Appling County, Ware County, Brantley County, Pierce County, Coffee County, Bacon County, Charlton County, Liberty County, McIntosh County, Long County, Brunswick, Kingsland, St. Marys, Darien, Waycross, Nahunta, Blackshear, Hinesville, Alma, Folkston and other surrounding communities of South Georgia